Hellmuth celebrates Owen, Beamish

HellmuthPaul Mayne, Western News

Western professors Paul Beamish, right, and Adrian Owen have been named winners of the 2013 Hellmuth Prize for Achievement in Research.

Beamish holds the Canada Research Chair in International Management at the Ivey Business School. He is the author or co-author of more than 50 books and 100 refereed articles. His books are in the areas of international management, strategic management and joint ventures and alliances. His articles have appeared in Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Strategic Management Journal, Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS), and elsewhere.

He served as editor-in-chief of JIBS from 1993-97 and sits on numerous editorial boards. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Academy of International Business and the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada.

Owen holds the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neuroscience and Imaging in the Faculty of Social Science. He has spent the last 20 years pioneering breakthroughs in cognitive neuroscience. Some of his research interests include ‘brain mapping’ in the human frontostriatal system, cognitive deficits in patients with Parkinson’s disease and detecting residual cognitive function in people in a vegetative state and related consciousness disorders. His work has been published in prestigious journals such as Nature, The Lancet, Science and The New England Journal of Medicine.

Owen was a senior scientist and assistant director of the Medical Research Council’s Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge. His work there, and at the Wolfson Brain Imaging Centre at the University of Cambridge, used functional neuroimaging to explore attention, memory and control in brain-injured patients and healthy volunteers.

The Hellmuth Prize for Achievement in Research provides a way for all members of the Western community to appreciate and celebrate research achievement of the institution’s most distinguished faculty members. Two prizes (consisting of a plaque and a $1,500 cash award) are presented at a public ceremony each spring, with each winner making a short address. Hellmuth Prize winners are introduced at the Spring Convocation of the School of Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies.

1997 – Alan Davenport, Civil & Environmental Engineering, and Ian Steele, History;

1998 – William Fyfe, Earth Sciences, and Tom Lennon, Philosophy;

1999 – Michael Bancroft, Chemistry, and David Laidler, Economics;

2000 – Richard Puddephatt, Chemistry, and Regna Darnell, Anthropology;

2001 – Michael Locke, Biology, and Tilottama Rajan, English;

2002 – Grant McFadden, Microbiology and Immunology, and Angela Esterhammer, Modern Languages and Literatures;

2003 – Peter Norton, Chemistry, and Marilyn Randall, French Studies;

2004 – Robert Hegele, Medicine & Biochemistry, and David Bentley, English;

2005 – Ian Mitchell, Physics, and Richard Vernon, Political Science;

2006 – Mel Goodale, Psychology and Physiology and Pharmacology, and Joy Parr, Faculty of Information and Media Studies;

2007 – William Fisher, Psychology, and Rajni Patel, Electrical and Computer Engineering;

2008 – Aaron Fenster, Robarts Research Institute, Schulich, and Patrick Mahon, Visual Arts;

2009 – Brian Feagan, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, and John Whalley, Economics;

2010 – Gregor Reid, Lawson Health Research Institute, and Heather Laschinger, Health Sciences;

2011 – Ann Chambers, Lawson Health Research Institute, and Michael Groden, English;

2012 – John Meyer, Psychology, and Terry Peters, Medical Imaging and Medical Biophysics.