Two new CRCs named; eight renewed

Western professors Bipasha Baruah and Girma Bitsuamlak have been named the university’s newest Canada Research Chairs (CRC). Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology), announced the two new and eight renewed CRCs this morning at a special event in Toronto marking the kickoff to National Science and Technology Week.

Baruah, new Tier 2 CRC in Global Women’s Issues, develops theories, methodologies and analytical frameworks for conducting interdisciplinary research on gender and property ownership.

Bitsuamlak, new Tier 2 CRC in Wind Engineering, combines the use of experiments and computer simulations to uncover the impact of hurricanes, tornadoes and downbursts on buildings and energy infrastructure.

An additional eight Western chairholders had their CRCs renewed for another term:

The Chairs program has been designed to encourage and promote top research and innovation in universities. Tier 1 chairs receive $200,000 annually for seven years to fund their research and are awarded to outstanding researchers who have developed reputations as world leaders in their fields. Tier 2 chairs receive $100,000 annually for five years and are recognized as exceptional and emerging researchers with the potential to lead their respective fields.