Letter: Faculty members call for withdraw of UN appointment review

We undersigned Western faculty members are pleased to learn that one of our colleagues, the highly respected Western Law professor S. Michael Lynk, has recently been appointed by the United Nations to the role of Special Rapporteur on Human Rights in Palestine and the Occupied Territories.

At the same time, we are very concerned Foreign Affairs Minister Stéphane Dion has responded to the announcement with a statement on Twitter calling into question professor Lynk’s track record with respect to advancing peace in the region.

Professor Lynk is a highly respected researcher, and his writings on Middle East affairs present a balanced, principled and responsible perspective, grounded in the scholarship of human rights and international law. As his Western colleagues, we are proud that he has been granted this appointment, and we respectfully urge Minister Dion to withdraw his call for a review of professor Lynk’s appointment.

Anton Allahar, Social Science

Bipasha Baruah, Arts & Humanities

Ron Benner, Arts & Humanities

Andrew Botherell, Law, Arts & Humanities

Henri Boyi, Arts & Humanities

Richard Bronaugh, Law

Peter Chidiac, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry

James Compton, Information and Media Studies

Rebecca Coulter, Education

Michael Coyle, Law

Steve D’Arcy, Huron University College

Radoslav Dimitrov, Social Science

Anna Dolidze, Law

Hesham El Neggar, Engineering

Joel Faflak, Arts & Humanities

Randa Farah, Social Science

Wael Haddara, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry

Bernie Hammond, King’s University College

David Heap, Arts & Humanities

Alison Hearn, Information and Media Studies

Erica Lawson, Arts & Humanities

Alison Lee, Arts & Humanities

Hanan Lutfiyya, Science

Calin-Andrei Mihailescu, Arts & Humanities

Rod Millard, Social Science

Marco Mura, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry

Ileana Paul, Arts & Humanities

Adriana Premat, Social Science

Joanna Quinn, Social Science

Tilottama Rajan, Arts & Humanities

Marjorie Ratcliffe, Arts & Humanities

Matthew Rowlinson, Arts & Humanities

Sara Seck, Law

Jacob Shelley, Law, Health Sciences

Nabil Sultan, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry

Jeff Tennant, Arts & Humanities

Samuel Trosow, Law, Information and Media Studies

Kim Verwaayen, Arts & Humanities

Andrew Walsh, Social Science

Tony Weis, Social Science