TRIBUTE Celebrating excellence on campus

Strong earns ALS award Robarts scientist and neurologist Mike Strong has received the 2008 Forbes Norris Award from the International Alliance of ALS/MND Associations.

The award recognizes professionals who have made major contributions to patient care and research. Recipients are thought by peers to have demonstrated “exceptional care and compassion in the study and management of ALS/MND.” The International Alliance of ALS/MND
provides a forum for support and the exchange of information between more than 50 national patient-support and advocacy groups from over 40 countries worldwide.

Research Builds Communities

Evelyn Vingilis, Director of the Population and Community Health Unit at the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, is among this year’s recipients of the Leading Women, Building Communities Award. The Ontario-wide award recognizes community contributions. Her work in traffic safety, health care program evaluation and injury prevention has improved the lives of many. Among other things, her research has been instrumental in altering the social perception of impaired driving.

Dupre recognized for lifetime achievement
Robarts scientist John Dupré has received the 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Canadian Diabetes Association. The award recognizes a lifetime commitment to research excellence. The award is bestowed upon a prominent Canadian MD or PhD medical scientist for long-standing contribution to the Canadian diabetes community and a leader in diabetes research. This award recognizes Dupré’s lifetime contribution of over 40 years to diabetes research and clinical practice.

Spence, Huff receive national honor

Dr. David Spence and Murray Huff were inducted as Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in September. Election is one of the highest honours for individuals in the Canadian health sciences.

Major Medical Scholarship

Medical student Michelle Homer is among 17 recipients of the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) highest scholastic award. The scholarship is directed toward students who intend to work in family medicine. One student from each Canadian medical school is awarded the scholarship.