UWOFA scholarship recipients announced

The University of Western Ontario’s Faculty Association (UWOFA) continues to support the academic achievements of undergraduate students through a number of scholarships.

Thirty-five students have been awarded the 2007-2008 Faculty Association Scholarship, which is supported by all members of the UWOFA bargaining unit through membership dues. A reception was held for the recipients on Thursday, Dec. 4 at Michael’s Garden.

The annual scholarship is granted to students demonstrating outstanding academic performance in the previous year.

“It’s a way of promoting excellence in teaching by recognizing the students who excel,” says UWOFA president Michael Carroll.

The “intimate awards ceremony” brings faculty, university administration, students and parents together to recognize students’ academic achievements, he says.

Western’s faculty association is the only faculty-based organization amongst Canadian universities to offer scholarships to students. The scholarships were first granted in 1971.

UWOFA plans to continue the longstanding tradition.

“Generally the members of the (UWOFA) board each year are satisfied this is worthwhile,” he adds. “I would foresee this continuing in the future.”

The 2007-2008 Faculty Association Scholarship recipients are:

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Sharday Mosurinjohn

Will Nediger

Rene Vandenbrink

Faculty of Education

Alison Carson

Jill Heinrichs

Faculty of Engineering

Joshua Giles

Taylor Johnson

Jonathan Pietrobon

Faculty of Health Sciences

Eric Grayson

Marguerite Horne

Davy Tawadrous

Melaine Vaillancourt

Faculty of Information and Media Studies

Mary Kita

Faculty of Law

Cheryl Boyd

Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry

Medicine – Emily Glaydon (J.A.F. Stevenson Memorial Scholarship)

Dentistry – Peter Ta

Faculty of Music

Joseph Chi-Sing Siu

Richard Ivey School of Business

Paul Jun

Faculty of Science

Qiang Fu (Part-time Student Scholarship)

Nitan Garg

Maria Goiko

Kun Huh

Julia Mansfield

Sei Joo Park

Lorelei Vandendriessche (The Allan Heinicke Memorial Scholarship for Mathematics)

Faculty of Social Science

Marissa Daniels

Brandon Duewel (The W. Balderston Memorial Scholarship for History)

Krista Gilby (The G. Edward Ebanks Scholarship for Sociology)

Christopher Li

Angela MacMillan

Sarah Martens

Brandon McCarroll

Michael Packer

Teresa Piraino (Part-time Student Scholarship)

Sarah J. Shorten UWOFA Scholarship (Philosophy)

Peter Hurst