USC awards honour teachers and students

Western’s best and brightest students and faculty were honoured last week for their ongoing dedication to the university at the annual University Students’ Council Awards Ceremony.



Winning University Students’ Council Teaching Awards this year were Aleksandra Zecevic (Health Sciences), Robert Hudson (Science), Jan Minac (Science) and Ben Lester (Social Science). 


Western President Amit Chakma, and members of the USC executive, were on hand to present the awards April 1 at London Hall. The awards are a showcase for the talents of Western faculty and  students throughout the year.


Receiving an Award of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching were professors Aleksandra Zecevic (Health Sciences), Ben Lester (Social Science), Robert Hudson (Science) and Jan Minac (Science).


Social Science student Aaron Joshua Pinto received the Future of Western Award, while Student Award of Merit honours went to Kevin Zhou (Engineering), Jennifer Archibald (Health Sciences), Alexandria Smith-Doughty (Health Sciences), Lauren Hockin (Engineering) and Carolynna Gabriel (Ivey).


Pinto and Gabriel also earned a USC Alumni Award, while Matthew Shumka (Arts and Humanities) won the Tracey Knight Award.


The awards are sponsored by The University of Western Ontario Alumni Association, the USC and the Bank of Nova Scotia.