Zecevic earns Brightspace Innovation Award

Health Studies professor Aleksandra Zecevic has been named one of five North American winners of the 2015 Brightspace Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and D2L announced this week. The annual award celebrates innovative, thought-provoking and impactful teaching and learning practices by postsecondary educators.



“These five educators brilliantly showcase how creativity and innovation can provide deep and impactful learning to learners,” said STLHE President Robert Lapp. “Peggy, John, Veronika, Diane, and Aleksandra are shining examples of the student-centered values that both STLHE and D2L encourage, support, and develop.”

Zecevic creates safe environments where students can explore curiosity, creativity, cooperation and leadership. In her classrooms, students are allowed to make mistakes, then self-reflect and take responsibility for change. Her courses bring together local community and academia, and engage students as learners, teachers, problem solvers, researchers, graders, presenters, writers, videographers, and ultimately advocates for older adults.

In addition to Zecevic, other winners included Peggy Hartwick, Carleton University; John Kleefeld, University of Saskatchewan; Veronika Mogyorody, University of Windsor; and Diane Reddy, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

The winners will be recognized at the 2015 STLHE Annual Conference, June 16–19, in Vancouver, and at Fusion, the Brightspace Global Conference, June 22–26 in Orlando, Fla.

Each of the five winners will receive a two-year membership in STLHE as well as $2,200 toward travel and registration costs for both STLHE’s annual conference and Fusion.