Bone and Joint researchers honoured by Arthritis Alliance

Matthew Teeter of Western's Bone and Joint Institute has been honoured by the Arthritis Alliance.

John Coderre, vice-chair of the Research and Business Advisory Committee of Western’s Bone and Joint Institute for Research and Innovation in Musculoskeletal Health, has been honoured with the 2018 Qualman-Davies Arthritis Consumer Community Leadership Award from the Arthritis Alliance of Canada.

The award was created to recognize those who advocate for Canadians living with arthritis.

John Coderre, vice-chair of the Research & Business Advisory Committee of Western’s Bone and Joint Institute for Research and Innovation

John Coderre of Western’s Bone and Joint Institute.

Coderre, a retired officer of the Canadian Forces and a member of Patient Partners in Arthritis, demonstrated muscular-skeletal examination techniques to medical students and other health professionals for almost 18 years.

From 2008-2013, he was on the Consumer Advisory Council of the Canadian Arthritis Network. Coderre was also a member of the Scientific and Medical Advisory Committee and still participates on grant review panels for the Arthritis Society and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.

Coderre sat on the Steering Committee of the Arthritis Alliance of Canada and, for the past five years, has been the consumer advisor on the Board of the Canadian Clinical Trials Coordinating Centre.

Others honoured at the awards night in Toronto was current Bone and Joint Institute scientist Matthew Teeter (Medical Biophysics and Surgery at the Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry), who received the Early Career Researcher in Basic/Clinical Science Award.

Amanda Ali

Amanda Ali has received an Arthritis Alliance award.

Shabana Amanda Ali, a past Bone and Joint Institute trainee and Dr. Sandy Kirkley Postdoctoral Fellowship Awardee – currently at the Krembil Research Institute (Arthritis Program) in Toronto –who picked up the Postdoctoral Fellow Award.

The Arthritis Alliance of Canada was formed in 2002 with the goal of uniting the arthritis community to work on common goals to improve the lives of Canadians living with arthritis. It is composed of 36 member organizations including health-care professionals, researchers, funding agencies, pharmaceutical industry and government representatives.