Campus Digest, Dec. 8

Western News deadlines for 2012

Today’s Western News edition represents the semester’s final. We’ll return on Thursday, Jan. 5. Coming events and advertising deadline for that edition, the first of 2012, is noon Thursday, Dec. 15.

UWOFA announces scholarship winners

The University of Western Ontario Faculty Association (UWOFA) will award 36 scholarships to students from 11 Western faculties. The awards, funded by the UWOFA membership, are handed out at event set for 4:30 p.m. today, Dec. 8 in the Great Hall, Somerville House. The winners include:

Faculty of Arts and Humanities: Tristan Neill, James Porteous and Talor Sills;
Faculty of Education:
Jodi Graig and Jennifer MacMillan;
Faculty of Engineering:
Anish Naidu, Michael O’Brien and Kevin Romano;
Faculty of Health Sciences:
Danielle Eastman, Jamie Harris, Emma Schoo and Brooke Wilson;
Faculty of Information and Media Studies:
Cindy Ma;
Faculty of Law:
Aaron Baer;
Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry:
Kathleen Nichols and Philip Anderson;
Faculty of Music:
Emily Shaw;
Richard Ivey School of Business:
Peter Kettel;
Faculty of Science:
Kevin Biskaborn (Part-Time Student Scholarship), Samik Doshi, Jason Goldberg, Elizabeth Irish, John Malik (Allan Heinicke Memorial Scholarship), Margaret Sawatzky and Bob Wang;
Faculty of Social Science:
Vybhavi Balasundharam, Caitlin Harvey (W. Balderston Memorial Scholarship for History), Constantine Lai, Lorne McDougall, Rebecca Parry, Aaron Shantz (G. Edward Ebanks Scholarship for Sociology), Gillian Tohver (Part-Time Student Scholarship), Kristy Warren and Andre Wilkie;
Past President’s Award – James Compton (FIMS):
Jonathan Silver;
Sarah J. Shorten UWOFA Scholarship (Philosophy):
Craig Crandon.

Award of Excellence nominations sought

Nominations for this year’s Western Award of Excellence remain open until tomorrow, Dec. 9. The award is the highest level of campuswide recognition for the exceptional performance of Western staff. Visit the website for more information on the award and to download a nomination form.

Stephenson named to power list

Carol Stephenson, Richard Ivey School of Business dean, has been named a recipient of the 2011 Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100 award in the Corporate Directors category.

Stephenson, named to this list for the third time, joins a community of 584 women who have received the award, recognizing the highest achieving female leaders in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors in Canada.