UWOFA honours work of students

Each year, the University of Western Ontario Faculty Association (UWOFA) awards scholarships to outstanding students from across all 11 faculties at the university. These awards are funded by UWOFA members, reflecting their commitment to students and to the university community. Winners were honoured at an event Monday in the Dr. David S. Chu International Student Centre, Western Student Services Building.

  • Arts & Humanities: Gwendoline Hovey, Robert Norsworthy and Erin Nunoda;
  • Education: Bianca DeGrandis (shared scholarship), Cameron Fisher and Diana McLaren-Kennedy (shared scholarship);
  • Engineering: James Crocker, Alexander Daniel and Usen Malikovski;
  • Health Sciences: Danielle Eastman, Mehdiya Hemani, Sophia Nunes and Meghan Roach;
  • Information and Media Studies: Christine Bonk;
  • Law: Jonathan Viner;
  • Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry: Justine Denomme, J.A.F. Stevenson Memorial Scholarship for Medicine, and Justin Bubola for Dentistry;
  • Don Wright Faculty of Music: Rebecca Shaw;
  • Ivey Business School: Michael Zawalsky;
  • Science: Katherine Cox, The Allan Heinicke Memorial Scholarship, Miriam Hellstern Layefsky, Dov Kagan, John Krakovsky, Sangwoo Leem, Michael Sedlak, part-time student scholarship, and Melissa Soon;
  • Social Science: Kyle Arsenault-Mehta, Jenna Coutinho, Janessa Currie, Brandon Mendonca, The W. Balderston Memorial Scholarship for History, Darian Mills, The G. Edward Ebanks Scholarship for Sociology, Elizabeth Sutherland, Amy Vosa, Dennis Wong and Jutta Zeller-Beier, part-time student scholarship;
  • Past President’s Award – Don Abelson (Political Science): Hailey Tweyman; and
  • Sarah J. Shorten Scholarship (Philosophy): Taylor Rodrigues.